CAM Awards Program

CAM Scholarship

The Canadian Association of Movers has a Scholarship Program to award deserving applicants who have successfully completed an accredited truck driver training program that would benefit the moving and storage industry.

CAM Awards

The Canadian Association of Movers recognizes industry leaders who have distinguished themselves for their contribution to the industry and the association, and their innovative practices.

CAM’s Award Nominations Forms (pdf)

Press Release: Professional Moving Companies Win Big says Canadian Association of Movers (pdf), November 29, 2016

2016 CAM Executive, Directors and Award Recipients.

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes a prominent member of the moving profession who exemplifies the standards that CAM promotes; serves as a positive role model; has demonstrated leadership, commitment and integrity; and has made significant contributions to the Canadian moving industry.

Jim Calhoun
2016 – Jim Calhoun receiving the Distinguished Service Award from director Anne Martin.

2015 – Chaim Gilboa, Betty Lyttle-Shields and Wayne Lyttle
2014 – Allan Milton
2013 – Anne Martin
2012 – Randy Hoyt
2011 – Howard Bigham
2010 – Bob Tuckett
2009 – Lorne Stockley
2008 – Doug Auld
2007 – Wayne Marshall
2006 – Henry Van Remortel
2005 – Ted LeLacheur
2004 – Denis Frappier
2003 – John Skinner
2002 – Allen Taylor
2001 – Tim Moore

Industry Achievement Award

The Industry Achievement Award (formerly the Founders Award) honours a pioneering member of the moving industry who has had a long career of outstanding contribution to and impact on the moving profession; has demonstrated innovation and leadership; has raised the profile and performance of the industry, and promoted quality and integrity by example; and has served as a mentor to others in the profession.

Smitty Smith
2016 – Bob (Smitty) Smith (right) receiving the Industry Achievement Award from director Cam Carswell.

2015 – Kevin St. George
2014 – Carol Davis
2013 – Paul Leader
2012 – John Rausch
2011 – Dennis Doehl
2010 – William O’Donnell
2009 – Armstrong Family: Doug Armstrong Sr., Dale Armstrong, Doug Armstrong
2008 – Vic Switzer
2007 – Paul Kenwood
2006 – Doug Kellough
2005 – Wayne Hekle
2004 – Peter Naylor
2003 – Clifford Hoyt
2002 – Sonny Williams
2001 – Chuck Martin

Innovators Award

The Innovators Award recognizes achievements that can be seen by the whole moving industry. It is presented to an individual or team that achieves real innovations and/or significant breakthroughs in customer service, empowering employees, cutting red tape, achieving results Canadians care about, making significant process improvement, and/or advancing technology.

Franco Collard
2016 – Franco Collard (left) receiving the Innovators Award from director Tom Filgiano.

2015 – Larry Rosenberg
2014 – Don Kachur
2013 – Bryan St. George
2012 – Dale Ittas
2011 – not awarded
2010 – Glenn Thomsen
2009 – Chris Steer
2008 – Michael Rathbone
2007 – Ralph Mueller
2006 – Ray Anderson
2005 – David Young
2004 – William (Bill) Grossman
2003 – Bryan Bennett
2002 – Ross Mackie

Industry/Public Service Award

The Industry/Public Service Award is the moving industry’s recognition of a significant act that serves the public interest. The award was inspired in 2010 by the actions of Detective Kevin Hooper of the Toronto Police Service who saved the consumer community from being continually victimized by a rogue mover.

Milton Letkeman
2016 – Milton Letkeman (left) accepting the Public Service Award on behalf of Jay's Transportation Group from director Doug Kellough.

2015 – Chuck Resnick, TWO MEN AND A TRUCK® Canada
2014 – John Levi
2013 – Mike Hansen
2012 – Kevin Devereux, North American Van Lines
2011 – Dale Goldhawk
2010 – Kevin Hooper

Independent Mover of the Year Award

The Independent Mover of the Year Award is a new award in 2016 in recognition of a prominent independent household goods mover who demonstrates outstanding performance – in community service, employee relations, innovative operations – and service excellence with customers.

Connie Shields
2016 – Connie Shields (centre) and daughter Tara Watson accepting the Independent Mover of the Year Award on behalf of MIB Moving Inc. from director Ted LeLacheur.

2016 – MIB Moving Inc.

Agent of the Year Award

The Agent of the Year Award is a new award in 2016 in recognition of a prominent van line agent who demonstrates outstanding corporate citizenship – in community service, employee relations, innovative operations – and service excellence with customers.

Virginia_Dave Willms
2016 – Virginia and Dave Willms (centre) accepting the Agent of the Year Award on behalf of AMJ Campbell - North Bay from director Barry Schellenberg.

2016 – AMJ Campbell - North Bay

Move for Hunger Award

This year, Move for Hunger made a special presentation to one of CAM's members, Armstrong Moving & Storage, at the 2016 annual awards dinner.

Rod Speers
2016 – Rod Speers accepting the Move for Hunger Award on behalf of Armstrong Moving & Storage Ltd. from Move for Hunger's Program Director, Alexandra Marcus Sales.