Header text

English logo



CAM Awards Program

The Canadian Association of Movers recognizes industry leaders who have distinguished themselves for their contribution to the industry and the association, and their innovative practices.

CAM’s Award Nominations Forms (pdf)


Tom Finlay, Chairman, the Canadian Association of Movers, hosts CAM’s 2014 Awards Dinner

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes a prominent member of the moving profession who exemplifies the standards that CAM promotes; serves as a positive role model; has demonstrated leadership, commitment and integrity; and has made significant contributions to the Canadian moving industry.

2014 – Allan Milton (left) receiving the award from director Cam Carswell

2013 – Anne Martin
2012 – Randy Hoyt
2011 – Howard Bigham
2010 – Bob Tuckett
2009 – Lorne Stockley
2008 – Doug Auld
2007 – Wayne Marshall
2006 – Henry Van Remortel
2005 – Ted LeLacheur
2004 – Denis Frappier
2003 – John Skinner
2002 – Allen Taylor
2001 – Tim Moore

The Industry Achievement Award (formerly the Founders Award) honours a pioneering member of the moving industry who has had a long career of outstanding contribution to and impact on the moving profession; has demonstrated innovation and leadership; has raised the profile and performance of the industry, and promoted quality and integrity by example; and has served as a mentor to others in the profession.

2014 – Carol Davis receiving the award from chairman Tom Finlay

2013 – Paul Leader
2012 – John Rausch
2011 – Dennis Doehl
2010 – William O’Donnell
2009 – Armstrong Family: Doug Armstrong Sr., Dale Armstrong, Doug Armstrong
2008 – Vic Switzer
2007 – Paul Kenwood
2006 – Doug Kellough
2005 – Wayne Hekle
2004 – Peter Naylor
2003 – Clifford Hoyt
2002 – Sonny Williams
2001 – Chuck Martin

The Innovators Award recognizes achievements that can be seen by the whole moving industry. It is presented to an individual or team that achieves real innovations and/or significant breakthroughs in customer service, empowering employees, cutting red tape, achieving results Canadians care about, making significant process improvement, and/or advancing technology.

2014 – Don Kachur (left) receiving the award from
vice chairman Perry Thorne

2013 – Bryan St. George
2012 – Dale Ittas
2011 – not awarded
2010 – Glenn Thomsen
2009 – Chris Steer
2008 – Michael Rathbone
2007 – Ralph Mueller
2006 – Ray Anderson
2005 – David Young
2004 – William (Bill) Grossman
2003 – Bryan Bennett
2002 – Ross Mackie

The Industry Service Award is the moving industry’s recognition of a significant act that serves the public interest. The award was inspired in 2010 by the actions of Detective Kevin Hooper of the Toronto Police Service who saved the consumer community from being continually victimized by a rogue mover.

2014 – President John Levi (centre) receiving award from past chairman
Ted LeLacheur (right) and chairman Tom Finlay

2013 – Mike Hansen
2012 – Kevin Devereux, North American Van Lines
2011 – Dale Goldhawk
2010 – Kevin Hooper